November 2021 Update

We recently held a photo contest: AERE Mugs for AERE Mugs. To better communicate who we are and what we do, we asked you to submit pictures of actual AERE folks researching, conferencing in person, playing, talking to policy makers, and gathering online. We received over 60 entries and almost 90 photos! Everyone who submitted a photo was entered into a drawing for an AERE mug. Thank you to everyone who submitted photos and congratulations to our mug winners:

  • Olabanji Awodumi (Nigerian Institute of Social and Economic Research - NISER)
  • Richard Bishop (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
  • Nathan Chan (University of Massachusetts Amherst)
  • Marc Conte (Fordham University)
  • Lily Hsueh (Arizona State University)
  • Anna Klis (Northern Illinois University)
  • Corey Lang (University of Rhode Island)
  • Noelwah Netusil (Reed College)
  • David Pannell (University of Western Australia)
  • Praharsh Patel (Pennsylvania State University)
  • Jacquelyn Pless (MIT Sloan School of Management)
  • Nathaly Rivera (University of Sao Paulo)
  • C S Shylajan (ICFAI Business School Hyderabad)
  • Sarah West (Macalester College, Department of Economics)
  • William Wheeler (US EPA NCEE)

Congratulations to New Board Members!

AERE recently held elections for its 2022 Board of Directors. Karen Fisher-Vanden (Pennsylvania State University) will join the board as President-Elect beginning in January 2022 and begin serving as President in 2023. Mary Evans (The University of Texas at Austin) was elected Vice President. Ariel Ortiz-Bobea (Cornell University) and Beia Spiller (Environmental Defense Fund) will serve as Directors beginning in January 2022. Nick Kuminoff (Arizona State University) will continue as Secretary, and David A. Evans (Federal Government Economist) will join the board as Treasurer.

 AERE thanks outgoing board members for their faithful service:

  • Directors Soren Anderson (Michigan State University) and Lynne Lewis (Bates College)
  • Vice President John C. Whitehead (Appalachian State University)
  • Treasurer Margaret Walls (Resources for the Future)
  • Immediate Past President Daniel J. Phaneuf (University of Wisconsin-Madison) 

AERE also thanks the candidates who stood for election but were not chosen.


Sponsored Session Updates

AERE@WEAI: AERE will sponsor up to sixteen sessions, presenting more than sixty research papers, at the Western Economic Association International (WEAI) Annual Conference, to be held June 29 - July 3, 2022, at the Hilton Portland Downtown and The Duniway in Portland, Oregon. Abstract submissions close November 15. Learn more or submit your abstract>>

AERE@AAEA: AERE co-sponsors four sessions at the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association (AAEA) Annual Meeting with AAEA's Land, Water and Environmental Economics Section (ENV). Session ideas are being accepted until November 19. Learn more or submit your session idea>>

AERE@SEA: The Southern Economic Association's 91st Annual Meeting will be held November 20–22, 2021, at the Marriott Marquis, Houston, Texas. AERE is sponsoring 17 sessions, including a keynote address by Dan Phaneuf (University of Wisconsin-Madison), AERE Immediate Past President. Learn more or register>>

AERE@ASSA: AERE is sponsoring nine sessions at the ASSA 2022 Virtual Annual Meeting January 7-9, 2022, covering a wide variety of topics. Review the preliminary program or register>>


Nominations for Publication of Enduring Quality Award, AERE Fellows due December 1

AERE recognizes as Fellows those who have made outstanding contributions to the profession of environmental and resource economics. Nominate someone for an AERE Fellowship>> 

AERE also recognizes works that are of seminal nature and have enduring value in the field with the Publication of Enduring Quality (PEQ) Award. Nominate a publication for the PEQ Award>>


The formal program will include the recognition of the 2021 Oates Dissertation Award winner and an address by 2015 AERE Fellow Edward B. Barbier. The event is FREE, but you must be a current AERE member to attend, and pre-registration is required. Register now to connect with your AERE colleagues!


Jobs, Internships, Post-doctoral Positions and Fellowships

Association of Environmental and Resource Economists  | 222 S. Westmonte Drive, Suite 111, Altamonte Springs, FL 32714, United States | Phone: 407-774-7880 | Fax: 407-774-6440 | Email: [email protected]


Notice of Nondiscrimination: