The Wallace E. Oates Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award

The Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award is judged by a panel of AERE members, and emphasizes originality of research, quality of implementation, expositional clarity, along with intellectual and practical significance of research findings.  Nomination instructions may be found here.

2021 Award

Gabriel EnglanderEmpirical Essays on Natural Resource Exploitation, University of California, Berkeley, 2021.

2020 Award

Katherine WagnerEssays in Environmental Public Finance, Yale University, 2020.

2019 Award

Akhil RaoThe Economics of Orbit Use: Theory, Policy, and Measurement, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2019.

2018 Award

Louis PreonasThree Essays on Energy Economics, University of California, Berkeley, 2018.

2017 Award

Eyal Frank"Economic Outcomes and Market Dynamics of Biodiversity Losses," Columbia University, 2017.

2016 Award: Due to a change in the timing of award eligibility and selection, there was no 2016 doctoral dissertation awardee.

2015 Award

Casey Wichman"Information and Environmental Policy," University of Maryland, College Park, 2015.

2014 Award

Kailin Kroetz"The Costs of Restrictions in Tradeable Permit Programs," University of California, Davis, 2014.