In the Issue

  1. Message from AERE President
  2. Virtual Conference: By the Numbers
  3. Regional Meetings Update
  4. AERE Annual Awards
  5. Dissertation Award Nominations

A Message from AERE President Karen Palmer

Summer greetings, members and friends of AERE (aka @AereOrg)! I was happy to see many of you across the screen at the virtual AERE Summer Conference. As I was recently reminded by a tweet from Max Auffhammer, it has been 10 years since he and Laura Taylor organized the first AERE Summer Conference in Seattle. Since then, we’ve had many wonderful summer meetings (in great and varied locations) and a couple of World Congresses as well. Thinking back across these events, what strikes me most is how lucky we all are to have such a great community of colleagues and friends in AERE. Connections like these are always something to celebrate but particularly in this time of COVID, when life has been challenging (and continues to be especially so for many of our colleagues). It's also exciting each year to see new people join these gatherings, share their research and start to make the connections that keep our association and our profession moving forward.

Are you active on Twitter? If you are, be sure to follow us at @AereOrg and to follow the AERE journals as well (@JaereAere and @ ReepAere). Over much of the past year, we’ve been fortunate to have Anne Byrne, a PhD candidate at Cornell’s Dyson School of Applied Economics, as our resident AERE Tweeter, sharing information and news about AERE, JAERE and REEP with the Twitter community. Anne, who recently defended her dissertation and received her PhD, is off to a new job with the Economic Research Service of the Department of Agriculture. We want to thank her for her excellent work over this past year and wish her all the best in her new job. I also want to announce that AERE has engaged the services of Emma Grazier, a graduate student in Agriculture and Resource Economics at University of Massachusetts at Amherst, to be our new AERE Tweeter. Emma will work with the journal editors, the AERE board and AERE Headquarters to promote the journals and the work of the association and our members. Welcome, Emma!

AERE has also recently launched a new committee, the AERE Graduate Student Engagement Committee, which is comprised of two AERE Board members, Sathya Gopalakrishnan (The Ohio State University) and Sarah Jacobson (Williams College), along with three graduate students: Vikrant Kamble from the School of Economics at Georgia Institute of Technology; Hyunjung Kim from the Department of Agricultural, Food, and Resource Economics at Michigan State University, and Oluwatosin Olofinsao from the Department of Economics, University of New Mexico. This committee will be working together over the coming year to develop and launch a regular ongoing professional development program with a series of virtual panel talks throughout the year and a workshop at the AERE conference in Miami in 2022.

Lastly, I’m pleased to report that the AERE Scholars Program had its first virtual gathering of the inaugural class of scholars and mentors on June 2, the day before our AERE conference. This program, led by Jill Caviglia-Harris (Salisbury University) is off to a great start. Learn more about it>>

AERE 2021 Virtual Conference: By the Numbers

  • Almost 700 registrants--50% of whom were unrelated to any presenting submission!
  • 67 sessions over three days of productive engagement
  • 92% satisfied/very satisfied with the event

Thank you to the many people who helped to make this event possible: the Summer Conference Organizing Committee (Karen Palmer, John Whitehead, Margaret Walls, Dan Phaneuf and Neha Khanna), others who reviewed abstracts, contributed to discussions and generally provided support for the virtual conference.

View highlights from the 2021 Summer Conference>>

Regional Meetings Update

[email protected]: AERE will sponsor 22 sessions at the WEAI 96th Annual Conference to be held online June 27 - July 1, 2021. Thank you to Trudy Ann Cameron (University of Oregon) for organizing the program! View sessions>>

[email protected]: The abstract submission period for [email protected] opens July 1 each year. The deadline for submissions is August 15 each year. Sessions are being organized by Jimena Gonzalez (Manhattan College). Learn more>>

[email protected]: AERE co-sponsors two invited speaker sessions at the AAEA annual meeting on current issues of mutual interest to both organizations. The 2021 meeting will take place August 1-3 at the JW Marriott, Austin, Texas. Learn more>> AERE thanks program committee members Sathya Gopalakrishnan (The Ohio State University) and Zachary Brown (North Carolina State University).


AERE Announces Annual Awards

Each year at its Summer Conference, AERE announces its annual awards. This year, though the ceremony was virtual in format, was no exception. 

Dallas Burtraw (Resources for the Future) and Christopher Timmins (Duke University) were named 2021 AERE Fellows in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the field of environmental and resource economics. Supporters shared well wishes via video. View the celebratory videos>>

In addition, AERE presented its publication awards. The 2021 Publication of Enduring Quality Award--recognizing publications based on their seminal nature and enduring value--was presented to Madhu Khanna and Lisa A. Damon for “EPA’s Voluntary 33/50 Program: Impact on Toxic Releases and Economic Performance of Firms,” Journal of Environmental Economics and Management, Vol. 37 (1999), pp. 1-25; and David Levhari and Leonard J. Mirman for “The Great Fish War: an Example Using a Dynamic Cournot-Nash Solution,” Bell Journal of Economics, Vol. 11, No. 1 (Spring, 1980), pp. 1121-1167. The Ralph C. d’Arge and Allen V. Kneese Award for Outstanding Publication in the Journal of the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists (JAERE) recognizes an exemplary research paper published in JAERE during the calendar year. The 2020 award was presented to Alberto Salvo for “Local Pollution as a Determinant of Residential Electricity Demand,” Vol. 7, Issue 5 (2020), pp. 837-872.  

Call for Dissertation Awards Nominations

The Wallace E. Oates Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award, established in honor of Wally Oates (1937 – 2015), is awarded for an outstanding doctoral dissertation in environ-mental or resource economics.  The winner receives a $1,500 cash award along with a $500 travel grant to attend a recognition ceremony at the AERE Luncheon at the Allied Social Science Association (ASSA) annual meeting. In addition, the dissertation abstract is published in JAERE. The deadline for nominations for this award is September 1. Learn more>>



Join or renew today to be added to the lists>>

Association of Environmental and Resource Economists  | 222 S. Westmonte Drive, Suite 111, Altamonte Springs, FL 32714, United StatesPhone: 407-774-7880 | Fax: 407-774-6440 | Email: [email protected]


Difficulty viewing this email? View in web browser>>