Highlights from the 2018 AERE Luncheon & Business Meeting

Laura TaylorAERE held its Annual Luncheon and Business Meeting on January 6, 2016 in Philadelphia, PA.  The annual luncheon is held in conjunction with the ASSA meetings. Presiding over the luncheon was Laura Taylor, AERE President (pictured right). 

Updates for the membership included:

  • Welcoming of new AERE Officers and Board Members:
    • Daniel J. Phaneuf, University of Wisconsin, President-Elect (term 2019-2020)
    • Amy Ando, University of Illinois, Vice President (term 2018-2019)
    • Mary Evans, Claremont-McKenna College, Board Member (term 2018-2020)
    • Paulina Oliva, University of Southern California, Board Member (term 2018-2020)
  • Welcoming Cathy Kling, University of Iowa, as the new Editor-in-Chief for the
  •  Review of Environmental Economics and Policy

  • Thanking outgoing officers, board members and editors:
    • Vic Adamowicz, Past-President and Board Member
    • Andrew Plantinga, Outgoing Vice President
    • Elena Irwin and Meredith Fowlie, Outgoing Board Members
    • Carlo Carraro, Outgoing Editor, Review of Environmental Economics and Policy

Eyal FrankThe 2017 Wallace E. Oates Outstanding Dissertation Award was also presented to Eyal Frank (pictured right) for his dissertation titled "Economic Outcomes and Market Dynamics of Biodiversity Losses" (Columbia University, 2017).

Members also received an update on the 2018 World Congress of Environmental and Resource Economists, to be held June 25-29 in Gothenburg, Sweden.  The World Congress is sure to be an outstanding event with highlights including:

  • Special Policy Lecture on June 25 by Gina McCarthy, Director of the Center for Global Health and the Environment, Harvard University, and former Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency under President Barak Obama.
  • Special policy discussion on global climate policy with Gina McCarthy, Jos Delbeke, Director-General of the European Commission's Directorate-General for Climate Action, and Ji Zou, President of the Energy Foundation China and former Deputy Director-General of China’s National Center for Climate Change Strategy and International Cooperation.
  • Plenary Speakers:
    • Nava Ashraf, London School of Economics, UK
    • Meredith Fowlie, University of California - Berkeley, USA
    • Lata Gangadharan, Monash University, Australia
    • David Hendry, Oxford University, UK
  • Special AERE Thematic Sessions are being organized by the editors of AERE’s two flagship journals, the Journal of the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists (JAERE) and the Review of Environmental Economics and Policy (REEP).
  • Multiple pre-conference Workshops being organized by:
    • The Chinese Association of Environmental and Resource Economists (CAERE)
    • The Grantham Institute on Climate Change and the Environment at the London School of Economics;
    • SDSN Northern Europe
    • University of Gothenburg
    • The Swedish Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 
      More information on each of the workshops will be posted to the WCERE2018 website as they become available!
  • Pre-conference Short Courses on Spatial Analysis in Economics and the Environment and the Application of Experimental Methods in Climate Policy (learn more).

Kathleen SegersonFinally, Professor Kathleen Segerson, Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor and Alumni Association Distinguished Professor of Economics at the University of Connecticut, gave the AERE Fellow's Keynote Address at the luncheon.  Dr. Segerson was inducted as an AERE Fellow in 2007.  Her address was titled "The Role of Theory in Contemporary Environmental Economics."




 Submit your abstract for the 2019 [email protected] Meetings! >>