Volunteers are AERE's most precious resource, lending their time and expertise to help the association, and the profession, advance. AERE has volunteer opportunities to suit every interest and availability level, including service on the Board of Directors. Please note: Although AERE accepts expressions of volunteer interest throughout the year, committee selections are typically made annually in May/June. 


Complete a volunteer interest form>>


2022-2023 Committees

Nominating Committee (Responsible for assembling a slate of candidates to stand for election as Officers and Board Members and for filling open committee slots)





Graduate Student Engagement Committee

GSE Advisory Board


AERE Scholars Program Committee



Oates Dissertation Award Committee (Responsible for selecting the winner of the Oates Dissertation Award annually)


Publication of Enduring Quality (PEQ) Award Committee (Responsible for selecting the winner of the PEQ Award annually)



Best JAERE Paper Award Committee (Responsible for selecting the winner of the Best JAERE Award annually)

  • JAERE Co-Editor: Christian Vossler, University of Tennessee, expires 6/30/2023
  • JAERE Co-Editor: Nick Kuminoff, Arizona State University, expires 6/30/2023
  • AERE member: Nathan Chan, University of Massachusetts Amherst, expires 6/30/2024



[email protected] Program Committee



[email protected] Program Committee



AERE Sessions at Regional Meetings



Advisory Committee for 2023 AERE Summer Conference (Responsible for advising the AERE Summer Conference Organizing Committee)

  • AERE President Karen Fisher-Vanden, Pennsylvania State University
  • AERE President Karen Palmer, Resources for the Future
  • AERE Vice President Mary Evans, University of Texas at Austin
  • AERE Treasurer David A. Evans, Federal Government Economist 
  • AERE Board Member Ariel Ortiz-Bobea, Cornell University



Organizing Committee for 2023 AERE Summer Conference (Responsible for organizing the AERE Summer Conference)

  • Sarah Jacobson, Williams College
  • David Keiser, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • AERE Board Member Ariel Ortiz-Bobea, Cornell University